The Hallwang Clinic Review Blog

Posted Leave a commentPosted in The Hallwang Clinic

Hallwang Clinic Reviews

Welcome to the Hallwang Clinic review blog. The Hallwang Clinic is a specialized private oncology clinic and is situated in the heart of the Black Forest nature park in Southern Germany. Our private oncology clinic offers the most advanced medical treatment concepts in the area of individualized precision-based and immuno-oncology cancer therapy. We take pride in the commitment of our oncology team to provide excellence in oncology with an excellent care to our patients and their families. Our medical team consists of an innovative interdisciplinary team of board certified and specialized oncologists, haematologists, internal medicine specialists, naturopaths, specialized psychologists and nurses, working in a collaborative university hospital and university institute network. Our board-certified oncologists have gained experience at well-known university institutes and university hospitals in Germany and world-wide, including the Center of Integrated Oncology of the University Hospital Cologne and the University Hospital Bonn (Germany), the Dana Farber Cancer Institute of the Harvard Medical School in Boston (USA), the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center of the Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore (USA), the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute (Australia) and other renowned cancer institutes. Furthermore, our specialized medical oncologists are members of the European Society for Medical Oncology, carrying the EMSO certificate of Oncology, and / or are members of the Germany Society of Haematology and Oncology. Many of our physicians have an intensive research and academic background in cancer medicine particularly Immuno-Oncology. Our medical oncology team follows the continuously updated international guidelines for cancer therapies.

Briefly summarized, our focus is on individualized treatment concepts that are based on individual information that we retrieve from a number of diagnostic tests that give us information on surface markers, individual mutations, amplifications, translocations, (…) presented by the patient’s tumor cells. Identification of these allows us to specifically target them through a broad range of therapeutic options. One has to look at the tumor itself to understand what targeted treatments a patient can benefit from. A treatment that might work for one patient, does not necessarily work for another patient, even though they have both the same type of cancer. One needs to discuss and evaluate for a multimodal treatment concept that considers all aspects of the patient’s disease and fits to his or her medical history and general condition.

Some of our patients are happy to share their experience in public. But please bear in mind that not everyone is open to share his/her experience in public. Furthermore, please don’t misunderstand reviews as an objective and complete treatment summary. In many cases, the patients use reviews or testimonials to express their gratitude to our team, as we have supported them in a very difficult situation, regardless of their treatment response. Patients naturally describe their cases in a way that would not meet objective criteria for a proper oncological evaluation, or do not reflect our oncology teams original feedback. We cannot always publish updates to the testimonials due to the medical confidentially and data protection law, and we are very much respecting the privacy of our patients, so we will not provide any further information on our own on the reviews below. So please note that the following reviews are original feedbacks from our patients that were published following our patients wishes:

Post from Alice

Posted Leave a commentPosted in Hallwang Clinic Reviews

Dear Facebook friends and family,

in September 2016, we published a post from Alice. Alice had a very aggressive relapse of TNBC before she came to our clinic. Here is an update, which Alice is happy to share with you! We are so happy for you!

• We came to the Hallwang oncology clinic because Alice was treated in France for a very aggressive relapse of a triple negative breast cancer in April 2016. Unfortunately the chemotherapy treatment given in France gave no result and it was impossible to have an immunotherapy in France either in a clinical trial or directly. After 8 weeks of targeted immunotherapy treatment in Hallwang combined with a chemotherapy in France, Alice has been in a almost complete remission in august 2016. Targeted immunotherapy is continued and Alice is in complete remission at the date of may 6 2019 since 17 months.

• Nous sommes venus à la clinique d’oncologie Hallwang car Alice était traitée en France pour une récidive très agressive d’un cancer du sein triple négatif en Avril 2016. Malheureusement le traitement de chimiothérapie entrepris en France n’a donné aucun résultat et il était impossible d’entreprendre une immunothérapie en France soit dans un essai clinique soit directement. Après 8 semaines de traitement d’immunothérapie jointe à un vaccin à Hallwang, combiné avec une chimiothérapie en France, Alice s’est trouvée en rémission presque complète en Août 2016. L’immunothérapie et le vaccin sont poursuivis et Alice est en rémission complète au 6 mai 2019 depuis 17 mois.

A positive and inspiring note

Posted Leave a commentPosted in Hallwang Clinic Reviews

We want to share with you Tracy’s (Mother 54 years of age) and Hannah’s (Daughter – 22 years of age) story …

“After my mothers diagnoses of Glioblastoma at 54 years old, I searched high and low for alternative treatments due to the UK having none and I came across the Hallwang Clinic. I contacted them and they got back to me straight away with a treatment plan and the next thing we knew, we flew out to the clinic for mums first treatment..

We were welcomed by some of the most friendly people I have ever met at the Hallwang Clinic and made myself and mum feel right at ease. In the next week mum had lots of treatment which included Immunotherapy to target her tumour, we knew how grave Glioblastoma was and the chances of anything working were low but we were determined to find something! Even though there was a lot of treatment, the doctors, nurses and admin staff were all incredibly helpful and lovely, they made you feel like family.

It has now been a year and we have been to the Hallwang Clinic three times. We got the extremely good news that mums tumour has shrunk which is incredible as the chances of that happening were so slim! My mother got a year and two months to survive…

Its now been a year and she is better than ever. We are fighting strong and we never wouldn’t of been able to be in our position without Hallwang. I urge anyone with a terminal illness to contact Hallwang, I will forever be grateful for what they have done for my mother.

We are so happy for you, and hope that Christmas and 2019 brings you all you were hoping for, especially health and wonderful times with your family!

For more information, please refer to: https://www.justgiving.com/crowdfunding/hannah-warman

Your Hallwang team

Hallwang Clinic Video from Stage IV Colorectal cancer patient Marc

Posted Leave a commentPosted in Hallwang Clinic Reviews

Mark, a 45-year old patient at our clinic, has been diagnosed with Stage IV colorectal cancer with metastases in the liver and lung.

Mark was first diagnosed in 2016 and after chemotherapy and antibody treatment in the UK, he came to the Hallwang clinic in 2018 with progressive disease.

At Hallwang, a combined immunotherapeutic strategy was initiated – with success. His recent CT scan showed significant tumor burden reduction and Mark is now being evaluated for local ablation of the residual tumor

Happy to share good news from Bruce

Posted Leave a commentPosted in Hallwang Clinic Reviews

Dear blogreaders,

We received good news for one of our patients and are happy to share these with you on Bruce’s behalf.

Bruce was diagnosed in May 2013 with stage IIIC malignant melanoma of his right foot with a micrometastastic disease in 1/7 lymph nodes from the right popliteal and groin area. In July of the same year, a dissection took place and Bruce decided to not receive the adjuvant interferon treatment, before he underwent a new biopsy in October 2013, confirming progressive disease. A few of the skin metastases were resected, and he underwent hyperthermic limb perfusion therapy. Unfortunately, in February 2014, the disease progressed even further.

Happy to share good news from Bruce

Analysis of Bruce’s tumor biopsy showed a BRAF-V600E mutation. So he started on the BRAF/MEK inhibitor dabrafenib and trametinib, which he took for nearly a year and a half. In July 2015, a restaging scan was unfortunately suggestive of disease progression, so Bruce started checkpoint-antibody treatment with nivolumab. Unfortunately, three months under this treatment, Bruce developed a grade III colitis (inflammation of the colon), that needed to be treated with corticosteroids. Disappointingly, Bruce was no longer able to continue the treatment. Once he fully recovered, he started on vemurafenib and cobimetinib (a different BRAF/MEK-inhibitor) treatment in January 2016, and searched for further options – and contacted our team at the Hallwang clinic.

Hallwang Clinic Reviews - Happy to share good news from Bruce

At the Hallwang Clinic, we started with a thorough diagnostic approach and first screened Bruce’s tumor tissue for tumor associated antigens in order to identify potential therapeutic targets. Bruce’s tumor tissue was tested positive for expression of Melan-A and Survivin. When Bruce visited us in April 2016 for the first time, we discussed a treatment with a so called trifunctional antibody approach – targeting anti-GD2. GD2 is a marker which is expressed on tumors of neuroectodermal origin, and thus often found in melanoma patients, as well as in patients with neuroblastoma and different kinds of sarcomas. To evaluate Bruce’s eligibility for this treatment, a blood analysis for circulating-GD2 positive cells was performed, showing that his tumor was highly GD2-positive (3+).

Happy to share good news from Bruce - Hallwang Clinic Reviews

Having completed all diagnostic steps and after careful evaluation, Bruce started on a combined immunotherapeutic approach targeting TAA’s in combination with anti-GD2 treatment and the BRAF/MEK-inhibitor. Since then, Bruce is visiting us every three months for three days, continuing his treatment strategy. Bruce has now achieved and maintained a “no evidence of disease“ status (NED) for about 2 and 1/2 years now, and 5 years since diagnosis!!

We are so happy for you, Bruce!

Continue on this path!

Heart-warming and encouraging story from our clinic

Posted Leave a commentPosted in Hallwang Clinic Reviews

Dear blogreaders,,

we would like to share with you another heart-warming and encouraging story from our clinic!

This is David and his lovely wife Tina. David was diagnosed with tongue cancer in 2000, underwent radiation and jaw reconstruction with a new tongue.

Unfortunately, beginning of this year, the tumor came back and David came to us, and was treated with combined immunotherapy. Now he got his first MRI results back, showing no evidence of recurrence!

We are so happy for him and his family, congratulations!

Amazing results achieved so far

Posted Leave a commentPosted in Hallwang Clinic Reviews

In July we shared a newspaper article on one of our patients who was given up by her doctors at home in the UK. Here is an update on her amazing results achieved so far!

 

NHS told me I was going to die of cancer… but now I’ve almost beaten the disease, thanks to treatment in Germany
Family of 60-year-old raising money to pay for immunotherapy treatment in Germany

https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/greater-manchester-news/nhs-told-going-die-cancer-11785070

Alice had a very agressive relapse of TNBC before she came to our clinic

Posted Leave a commentPosted in Hallwang Clinic Reviews

Triple negative breast cancer has a worse prognosis and often relapses early compared with other subtypes of breast cancer. It is characterized by the lack of expression of estrogen receptor, progesterone receptor, and HER2. Several agents are currently being investigated as potential therapeutic agents for the treatment of TNBC. A promising treatment strategy in breast cancer is the use of immunotherapy. See here Alice, she had a very agressive relapse of TNBC before she came to our clinic. She received a combined immunotherapeutic treatment approach and is now almost in complete remission! We are so happy for you!

• Nous sommes venus à la clinique d’oncologie Hallwang car Alice était traitée en France pour une récidive
très agressive d’un cancer du sein triple négatif en Avril 2016. Malheureusement le traitement de
chimiothérapie entrepris en France n’a donné aucun résultat et il était impossible d’entreprendre une
immunothérapie en France soit dans un essai clinique soit directement. Après 8 semaines de traitement
de l’immunothérapie ciblée à Hallwang, combiné avec une chimiothérapie en France, Alice s’est
trouvée en rémission presque complète.
• We came to the Hallwang oncology clinic because Alice was treated in France for a very agressive relapse of
a triple negative breast cancer in April 2016. Unfortunately the chemotherapy treatment given in France
gave no result and it was impossible to have an immunotherapy in France either in a clinical trial or directly.
After 8 weeks of targeted immunotherapy treatment in Hallwang combined with a chemotherapy
in France, Alice has been in a almost complete remission

Alice and Claude M., France